Transformation is a function of leadership

The lean transformation process unfolds in five distinct phases. Below, each phase is summarized based on the transformation model developed by Harvard’s John P. Kotter, author of The Heart of Change (Harvard Business Press) and a noted leadership expert.

Phase I

Establish a sense of urgency: Examine market realities; identify and discuss major crises and opportunities.

Create a strong guidance team with members who have power. Field a team with enough power to lead change.

Phase II

Develop/Communicate vision and strategies: Create a vision to help direct transformation; develop strategies for achieving vision. Communicate vision and strategies; model the right behavior.

Generate short-term wins. Create visible wins in performance; recognize and reward people who made the wins possible.

Phase III

Roll out standard work systematically: Use the kaizen method to systematically transform healthcare operations.

Confront obstacles: Get rid of obstacles. Change systems or structures that undermine change: encourage risk-taking and nontraditional ideas and actions.

Phase IV

Monitor the change; reinvigorate the process: Monitor the change; ensure adherence to new methods. Spread change to support and operations and suppliers. Change systems that don't fit the transformation vision. Hire, promote and develop people who can implement change. Reinvigorate the process with new projects, themes and change agents.

Phase V

Anchor new approaches in the culture: Create better performance through customer and productivity-oriented behavior, better leadership and more effective management. Articulate the connections between new behaviors and organizational success. Develop means to ensure leadership developments and succession.